Songs, Scripture, Spurgeon, and Stargate

Songs:
So I was pondering a song I heard in church this morning in church called, While you were sleeping by Casting Crowns,  while for the most part I am a fan of the band and most of their songs I was astonished how politically charged this song was.  While reading the lyrics it seemed to be as if the lyricist Mark Hall, whom I respect deeply, is stating the the people of Israel has been replaced by the United States of America.  This can not be further from the truth.  The people of Israel have been replaced by the Church as a whole not a new country.  This disturbed me greatly I understand that this might have not been his intent when writing that song but listening to it can make you think otherwise.  We are Christians who live in the United States of America not a nation that needs to be a or has been  a Christian Nation but it can be a Nation who has Christians in it.

*I have meet Mark Hall and when I meet him we were able to discuss Student Ministry, so it was not directly about this issues, but as I stated before, my issue is with the song, not the man, just wanted to clarify that.

Scripture:

What shall we say then? Are we to continue in sin that grace may abound? By no means! How can we who died to sin still live in it? Do you not know that all of us who have been baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into his death? We were buried therefore with him by baptism into death, in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, we too might walk in newness of life. For if we have been united with him in a death like his, we shall certainly be united with him in a resurrection like his. We know that our old self was crucified with him in order that the body of sin might be brought to nothing, so that we would no longer be enslaved to sin. For one who has died has been set free from sin. Now if we have died with Christ, we believe that we will also live with him. We know that Christ, being raised from the dead, will never die again; death no longer has dominion over him. For the death he died he died to sin, once for all, but the life he lives he lives to God. So you also must consider yourselves dead to sin and alive to God in Christ Jesus. Let not sin therefore reign in your mortal body, to make you obey its passions. Do not present your members to sin as instruments for unrighteousness, but present yourselves to God as those who have been brought from death to life, and your members to God as instruments for righteousness. For sin will have no dominion over you, since you are not under law but under grace. What then? Are we to sin because we are not under law but under grace? By no means! Do you not know that if you present yourselves to anyone as obedient slaves, you are slaves of the one whom you obey, either of sin, which leads to death, or of obedience, which leads to righteousness? But thanks be to God, that you who were once slaves of sin have become obedient from the heart to the standard of teaching to which you were committed, and, having been set free from sin, have become slaves of righteousness.
(Rom 6:1-18 ESV)

This is one, maybe my favorite, Chapter in the Bible.  We were once slaves to our sin but now we are free from our sin, because of Grace.  Also that while we have been set free unfortunately we still want to live in the sin we have been set free from.  This is the sad state of who we are as human beings.  But thankfully since God gave us the Holy Spirit he has given us a way to not have to sin all the time.  With the Holy Spirit we have the ability to not sin sometimes, before all we could do was sin but now we do not have to live in that situation any longer.  We should be rejoicing in this that we have GRACE.  Which every time I read this verse it makes me think of the hymn, “Grace, grace, God’s grace, grace that will pardon and cleanse within; grace, grace, God’s grace,grace that is greater than all our sin!”
Thank you God for the Grace that you have given us!
Spurgeon:  (From Lectures to My Students: A Ministers Self-Watch)
“We are, in a certain sense, our own tools, and therefore must keep
ourselves in order. If I want to preach the gospel, I can only use my own
voice; therefore I must train my vocal powers. I can only think with my
own brains, and feel with my own heart, and therefore I must educate my
intellectual and emotional faculties. I can only weep and agonize for souls
in my own renewed nature, therefore must I watchfully maintain the
tenderness which was in Christ Jesus. It will be in vain for me to stock my
library, or organize societies, or project schemes, if I neglect the culture of
myself; for books, and agencies, and systems, are only remotely the
instruments of my holy calling; my own spirit, soul, and body, are my
nearest machinery for sacred service; my spiritual faculties, and my inner
life, are my battle ax and weapons of war.”
This is a great passage from his book, in which it tells us to not just sit around and read, while that is important, but to get out in the world and do what God has called you to do.  You must live you life with a single purpose: to Glorify God and Enjoy Him Forever.  God has gifted us with certain talents and passions our purpose is to glorify Him through that passion and Enjoy Him in that passion spreading the Word of God in our actions not just in our words.
Stargate:
I was happy to hear that the TV series Stargate: Universe or SGU had been canceled.  I have watched and been an avid fan of Stargate: SG-1 and Stargate: Atlantis for many years. When this new series came out I optimistic that the story line was going to be continued and still have the light hearted science fiction I enjoy but after the first few episodes I was horrified on what had been going on in the show, it was nothing like it’s predecessors.  I was throughly disappointed when I learned that I was canceled after its second season I was happy and sad inside for while that show was being canceled it did bring and end to one of my favorite SciFi franchises.  But all things must come to an end I am still holding out for another movie based on the original series,SG-1 , but in the mean time all I can say is, I can’t wait till Easter and the return of DOCTOR WHO! 🙂
-Dan
One thought on “Songs, Scripture, Spurgeon, and Stargate

Leave a Reply

